Skip to content
  • Build on Kinde
  • Environments

Manage Kinde environments

Kinde allows you to run multiple environments to support your software development cycle.

Kinde environments at a glance:

  • All Kinde businesses come with one production environment.
  • You can create additional non-production environments (e.g., dev, test, staging, etc.)
  • Free plans are limited to one extra non-production environment.
  • You will need a paid plan to create multiple non-production environments.
  • You cannot delete the production environment.

You can see the environment you are working in at the top left of the home page when signed in. To make the production environment live, follow the go-live checklist.

Manage environments

Link to this section

Environment switcher

Link to this section

kinde environment switcher

  1. Sign in to your Kinde dashboard.
  2. On the top left of the screen, you will see the environment you are currently in.
  3. Select the environment drop-down to:
    • Switch to another environment
    • View all your environments (and create additional ones)
    • View and edit the current environment settings

Create a new environment

Link to this section
  1. From the environment drop-down, select All environments.

  2. In the Environments page, select Add environment.

  3. Enter a name for the environment (e.g., Development).

  4. Enter a dev-friendly code for the environment (e.g., dev).

  5. Select Save.

    You will see the new environment in the list.

  6. Select Switch to this environment on the environment card to start working in the new environment.

Rename an environment

Link to this section
  1. From the environment drop-down, select All environments.
  2. On the environment you want to rename, select the three dots menu (…).
  3. Select Edit environment.
  4. Update the environment name and select Save.

Delete a non-production environment

Link to this section
  1. From the environment drop-down, select All environments.

  2. On the environment you want to delete, select the three dots menu (…).

  3. Select Delete environment.

  4. Confirm you want to delete the environment. This action is irreversible.

Update environment settings

Link to this section
  1. From the environment drop-down, select Environment settings.

  2. Update the environment name as needed.

  3. Optionally, add third-party analytics tracking codes such as Google Analytics, Hotjar, and Contentsquare.

    If you are editing the production environment, you can also update the environment status to Live. See the go live checklist for more details.

Kinde environment FAQs

Link to this section

Who should use multiple environments?

Link to this section

If you want to test new user configurations or make other changes, do so in a non-production environment (e.g., testing or staging) first, then replicate the changes in production.

Unless you are a developer, we recommend you stay in the production environment for viewing and working with your Kinde account.

Can I copy configuration between environments?

Link to this section

No. You cannot copy configuration settings between environments using the Kinde dashboard. However, you can use the Kinde Management API to achieve this — follow this guide.